Archive for October 27, 2009

The New Sexy

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on October 27, 2009 by ekhatch

I really can’t thank Yoshitomo and Westhill Motorsports for his friendship and tremendous generosity, both with me and for The Melissa Project. Duke and I installed the Westhill gauge pod tonight and it went pretty smooth. It came with every little thing you need, sensors, mounting blocks, wiring, connectors, instructions,  everything. The only thing we had to buy we didn’t have was a 25mm socket. But I still couldn’t have done it without Duke, he’s one of those guys who has a natural gift for working on cars, plus I can’t solder, believe me I’ve tried but I always end up just making a mess. Install was pretty straight forward, first we mounted the gauge pod that came with the gauges pre intalled, wired and labeled.

P1010002

I know, my camera is horrible in the dark isn’t it. Then it was time to jack the front up and get under it

P1010001

Duke went under the car while I went to buy a 25mm socket. The gauge kit came with a plate that mounts between the block and the oil filter, the supplied sensors for oil temperature and oil pressure mount in that plate

P1010003

Next the upper radiator hose is cut and the water temperature sensor block is placed in line. Like the oil plate it’s a beautiful anodized purple and comes with everything, even new clamps.

P1010004

Wiring from the gauges is tied into the dash lights and grounded and you’re done! Or in this case Duke is done!

P1010005

The gauges are easily visible, but don’t block your vision of anything else, it really is an ingenious design, and they look so sexy at night!

P1010007

We did have a bit of a scare, we thought we had done something wrong or the car was acting up until we realized the temperatures were in celsius. I wish america would switch to the metric system more widely. Thank you Yoshitomo!